Summer Learning

Or this should be titled, how I got myself it to two projects a week before the end of the school year.

With only 2 more days with little ones and three days left to the 2016-2017 school year, you would think it would be time to slow down yet the excitement of summer this year has led to two summer adventures. They may fail miserably but there is no harm in trying I guess.

Empower Online Book Chat

A small group of us did an online book chat with A J Juliani & John Spencer’s book Launch this spring. It was a great opportunity for growth made even greater when we were able to do a face to face inquiry with some of the group this spring. So when we saw that a new book Empower was coming out we were really excited. I mentioned to Wendy on Twitter when I first saw the post that we should do a book chat and have to admit I forgot. Then Brandon mentioned a book chat for the book as well and I thought, why not let’s see whose interested. I’m always amazed how educators will so willingly give of their free time to learn. We already have 12 on the Google Form and can’t wait to get our hands on the book. The group has decided on a slow chat over Twitter so if you are interested, leave a few details on the form.

#peel21st 10 Summer Challenges

It was the end of June after a strike and in the middle of work to rule for me. With the gift of time Jay and I were sitting around (I promise for just a moment) wondering how we could help kids see that digital tools were more than Youtube, Snapchat and Clash of Clans so we came up with 10 summer challenges for the summer. Each week we would tweet out a different theme with resources to help folks get started. We had 2000 views that first summer and would share it when we had a chance but like most things with time it needed an update. I didn’t know if it was worth the investment of time. Fast forward to the end of this month and I was chatting with Sylvia one day. As excited as some friends are for the summer, we know others are not as excited to leave the structure and learning of school. It seemed like the summer challenges could be a resource to support some of our friends looking for an adventure. As I updated the cards and site I realized we needed something more. How do kids like to get information? All I could think of was Youtube and video. Enter the new Clips app by Apple.

If nothing else the weekly prompts will be an opportunity to work on my skills with Clips. At beast I hope a few learners find a spark to their own summer learning journey. If you want to join in, I’ll be posting the weekly prompt to a dedicated Flipgrid where you can share some tips around the theme for that week or where you can show off your creations!

So the year may be coming to a close but the learning is just ramping up.

Happy Summer!

Leave a Reply

