Failure – the Dirty Truth

It was the fifth session facilitating an exploration of our new vision document for Modern Learning in Peel. Having had the opportunity to be a small part of the creation of the document over the last two years, I was excited for the conversations ahead. We had been preparing for months. The first four days seemed to go well and we had positive feedback. The scene was set for another day of the same and yet…

I stood there in front of 100+ lovely colleagues and for the first time in my life I went blank.

It probably seemed like a second to others but it felt like an eternity to me. I couldn’t shake it for the rest of the day. It put me off quilter. I kept trying to think what I could fix, worried it would happen again. Sometimes the lesson you try to avoid are the ones that keep coming back. This spring has been full of failures or mess ups, some small, some not as small from missing a few days of #the100dayproject to not keeping up with the Design Thinking MOOC. The mess ups probably didn’t hurt anyone and I know I can justify it with timing and projects but the guilt and disappointment are real.

We love to share the catchy quotes about failure and the FAIL: first attempt in learning poster but do we share the uncomfortable parts? Do we share the overwhelming feeling of defeat that can come along? Do we make sure our learners (big or small) don’t just live in that place of failure where we keep asking them to persist and pick themselves up.

I was reading Seth Godin’s blog and two of his posts came to mind as I was thinking about the lesson I should take away. One, like in his story with the dislike button on Youtube, is that it’s easy to focus on what didn’t go well but I liked his post on dissatisfaction. Dissatisfaction isn’t a bad thing, neither is discomfort or disappointment. I guess the key piece is being ok with that feeling and looking to what is ahead.

 

One thought on “Failure – the Dirty Truth

  1. I love that I’m not the only one who experiences failure and then blogs about it! Because in the moment that it happens it SUCKS. But reflecting on it and moving forward is what makes you a great leader. And the uncomfortable parts (as cliche as it sounds) really helps us grow. ox

Leave a Reply

