I thought I was good with change

Its that time of year #highpark #cherryblossoms #getoutside #spring #springblooms

A post shared by Tina Zita (@misszita) on

I may be guilty of romanticizing change once or twice before. It’s hard not to get carried away and paint change with a pretty brush like blooms in the spring or colourful leaves in the fall. Then you hear that age old saying:

The only thing that is constant is change. Heraclitus.

I feel I lived the quote growing up. Change has always been a constant in my life: different countries, different school systems, different apps. It is what my job is all about after all: helping educators make changes in their practice.

Naively I thought I was good with change. Then the tweaks started happening.

Change of schools, parents moving away, step off a board, new team, step on a board, and the list goes on and on.

The changes were not necessarily bad.  They were often necessary and healthy but as they started piling up I could feel my roots unearthing. It suddenly became just a bit harder to focus, to keep up with the mad race, to take the risks I was used to. The changes seemed to play with the safety nets I had established, the roots I depended on. Change was great when I could control it or space it out. All the changes at once felt like I lost my footing. I question my choices, actions and how they are received even more.

Maybe it isn’t as much that I’m not good with change but that I needed a more realistic picture of change. Maybe we all need a reminder sometimes that change is a messy process not just the glossy capture once or twice a year.  Maybe it’s time to share the messiness and take the time to find that safe steady core.

I will be good with change again once my roots have settled.

 

Leave a Reply

