Jumping In – A Nudge

It’s always quite the milestone to make the first marker of a long project like #the100dayproject.  As we completed our first week Monday I was reminded why I love the project. Once again I’m learning and being inspired by great individuals sharing their practice openly. Sometimes it is friends like Sharon Drummond and her daily data doodles. Other times the inspiration is from someone new like parade.made and her whimsical daily Kawaiiness prints. I have to admit though that one of the most exciting elements this year is that my dad is joining in.

It was a simple mention. I can’t remember why I tagged my parents in a post about the project but I just mentioned in passing on Facebook they should join. My mom has always been artistic. The calmer pace out in the East Coast is giving her the opportunity to create more (really it is all the snow days). I thought she might appreciate the challenge. My dad is just getting in to photographs and Instagram. I didn’t expect them to follow up (first mistake). And in typical fashion my dad just jumped in. I opened my Instagram account to see my dad’s first post. We then chatted back and forth about hashtags and how it all works: a unique hashtag for his project, the collective hashtag to connect with the community. The hashtags are muddled up most days and the pictures may be of the ordinary but they demonstrate a commitment.

A commitment to a shared experience between us despite the miles, a commitment to try something new, a commitment to continuously learn.

I hope I am willing to jump in so freely the next time I am nudged with a new learning opportunity.

Morning PEI #100daysofcapturingPEI#100daysproject@2847michaelzita

A post shared by MichaelZita (@michaelzita2847) on

Leave a Reply

