#listenclosely for the big/small moments

Anyone else wonder how we got to March  2017? Feel like the year is flying by and you just want to push pause? I find the busyness can take over at times; swept up in my to do list, the grand plans that haven’t quite fallen in to place, wondering how to affect the most change. Then I have these BIG/small moments that remind me education always comes back to the learner and there is no better place to learn than right beside learners listening closely.

BIG/small Moment 1

The week started off co-learning with a grade 6 friend and her co-spaces creation. We often say we are co-learning but this was it. It reminded me of some learning moments with our jr media production team at Fallingdale. Two learners going back and forth trying to figure out how to code two characters to walk together. She figured it out.

BIG/small Moment 2

Then there was the passing comment to a friend that if he wanted to help me out he could make me a cheat sheet. He stopped everything to go find a piece of paper and make sure I knew the keyboard shortcuts for WordQ. Now I have a reminder on my fridge that kids can teach us and to not underestimate our words.

BIG/small Moment 3

The biggest learning this week came from some grade 1 friends. The librarian and classroom teacher had already done a lot of coding with Dash so we were going to try to push the thinking further adding an IF code block and have Dash and Dot interact. I don’t know what I expected but they definitely exceeded all my expectations. I listened to a grade 1 friend finding her own strategy to manage counting by 20. I listened to another groups of girls debugging their code so Dash and Dot would see each other. We may have had a small learning goal in mind but our grade 1 friends were showing us so much more and all it required was a small prompting question. How do you know? Can you justify? What could you change?

The big/small moments kept happening through out the week. A quote from How Learning Happens popped to mind.

edsurge-ignite-5

I can’t shake this feeling that if I want to impact change I need to make the time to  #listenclosely.

 

 

Leave a Reply

