Get More Through Giving 4/10

A short post and not what I had planned but staying true to my commitment for the 10 posts in 10 days challenge.

You don’t make soup for the first time for 50 people.

The zucchini was cut too large. The carrots were still crunchy. The pasta stuck on to the bottom of the pot. A simple online recipe turned in to a two hour chopping mad dash to feed 50 folks.

I was worried it was a complete failure. As we dished out their portions I kept apologizing. It  did not look like the soup from any local restaurant, that’s for sure. My biggest fear was that it would not be edible. Since they came back for thirds I think at least that fear was abandoned.

As they came back they brought reassuring words, compliments. Feedback was specific whether they loved the zucchini or enjoyed the heartiness of the dish. Here I was thinking I was the one that was giving. I planned the meal, brought the groceries, chopped for way too long. I had it all mixed up. Looking back I’ve realized how much I have learned to cook with my 6 meals a year with the Toronto Sharing Place.

How many times do we have that same experience in education. We come with our well laid plans, glossy handouts, lesson plans ready to give but end up receiving so much more in return.

4 thoughts on “Get More Through Giving 4/10

  1. I am in awe that you made soup for 50 people!! I had never heard of the Toronto Sharing Place; what a wonderful cause.
    As for your tie back to education, I think that beyond the shiny lesson plans, anything made from heart and with love and dedication will always be appreciated. I remember Dave Burgess in his DitchSummit presentation talking about the fact that so many teachers will focus on the negative feedback of one or two people when the rest of the class really appreciated and enjoyed the lesson. I think we need to remember that as well. Thanks for this post. Mine will be super short today too–if I can even manage it!

  2. And how often, as teachers, do we avoid trying new things because they won’t be perfect. We need administrators to tell us it’s okay and it’s part of the process. We should take a page out of our own growth mindset book when it comes to making positive change for our students. Nice post… one for the lighter side of blogging.

Leave a Reply

