Taking a Leap – TEDx Talk

I think it was the fall when I first got the email. A colleague I met through OISE was hoping I would do a TED talk at their TEDx event with students all focused around innovation. Sounded cool and as usual my gut reaction was sure.  After I sent the email request to my supervisor, the panic started setting in. Deep down I think I secretly was hoping I wouldn’t be able to get the time off. I got the ok so that didn’t work but it was ages away so the panic could wait. Then the countdown began.

What could I possibly say about innovation to kids, big kids much cooler than me?

The book club definitely got the wheels turning but it wasn’t to the very end that the pieces came together. The experiences from #the100dayproject, our Spark night, a tweet from a colleague. Suddenly I could see the connected web through the individual strings.

To say I wasn’t nervous is an understatement. You can probably see the nerves come through at the beginning of the clip. I did forget a whole section and quote around Relentless Restlessness. Following an engineer who had invented tools that assist doctors with breast cancer added to the nerves slightly.  But standing in front of 100+ faces, mostly high school students I hoped the message added to their understanding of innovation. I hope they left with a sense that innovation is not for a select few, but is available to all of us if we look for the sparks, celebrate the small moments and continue on the journey.

A big thank you to folks that suffered through test versions, last minute freak outs and listening to recorded messages. For the tips, tricks, books and youtube links.

I can’t bring myself to watch it, but if you are at all interested you can check it out below. Thanks for the opportunity Patricia and the TEDxSacredHeart team.

10 thoughts on “Taking a Leap – TEDx Talk

  1. Oh, Tina. I am here, in tears. You are so very beautiful and brave and amazing. Thank you for sharing who you are and how you see your journey. I sometimes get really frustrated when
    I feel like I’m not getting anywhere, and I think “who do I think I am? I can’t do this!”. And then, you remind me that I need to celebrate the small steps. They are so very, very important, and I think that’s something we really need to share with our students. You packed a great deal isn’t those 10 minutes!

  2. Pingback: When do we Innovate? | Terry Whitmell

  3. Yay you! Loved the Ted talk Tina. Very inspiring message and great reminder of what’s important. Small steps, being cognizant of the sparks all around us, and not expecting a completely original idea but rather valuing a remix like a postage stamp sized garden.

Leave a Reply

