35 Years Later 8/10

I remember chatting with my professor one day as I was sharing with future educators and she caught me off guard when she mentioned how little has changed since technology was introduced in the 80s. As I was reviewing chapter 3 of Will Richardson’s book From Master Teacher to Master Learner and stumbled upon the below from Gary Stager, I was brought back to our conversation.

Thirty-five years after schools began purchasing microcomputers, they must still bribe, trick, coerce, cajole, or threaten teachers to use them. Nearly two generations of students have missed powerful learning opportunities due to the inaction of adults.  Will Richardson, The Master Teacher to Master Learner.

My role as a technology coach definitely take on many roles: cheerleader, confident, provocateur, curator and more often then not it also feels like a sales job. I have to convince folks it’s worthwhile (I don’t mind).

So I got to thinking:

Do I really agree? Are we still having to bribe, trick, coerce, cajole or threaten educators? Has it gotten better?

Do we too often tell educators technology will make life easier that when things go array they aren’t willing to persevere?

How do we help see technology as a right and not just an option? 

So many questions to continue to ponder. What do you wonder? Would love to hear your thoughts!

 

6 thoughts on “35 Years Later 8/10

  1. Pingback: We Don’t Think Differently (or do we?) – 7/10 | Learning About Learning

  2. Great post, Tina!

    I think a lot of us who have been “around for awhile” are keenly aware of this. I was teaching public high school online in 1998 and I still see “online learning” approached as though it is a huge mystery. I have many conversations with colleagues about this very topic, but I think that Tom Whitby does a masterful job of expressing the danger of ignoring how the world has changed for our kids.

    https://tomwhitby.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/how-do-we-stop-illiterate-educators/

    Keep writing!

  3. Pingback: When Will You Be Ready? 9/10 | Learning About Learning

Leave a Reply

