The Power of Connection 2/10

Sometimes it just hits you how awesome it is to have a network of educators (and more) at your fingertips at all times. I definitely experienced it this weekend  having an author finding your read aloud, peaking in to a conference through a colleague or others willing to jump in on a 10 day challenge.

There have been many moments when I realized the power of being a connected educator. One that stands out was the process of putting an iBook together for my ADE project funnily enough on Being a Connected Educator. Looking back at the final edits I can see the community through out the pages: Steve Bambury’s advice of starting with my story, Chris’ advice on including a video on hashtags, or folks just willing to share why they connect (check out the book for all their names). I met Jennifer Casa-Todd through the process and now get the pure joy of working with her on The Innovator’s Mindset online book club.

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 10.38.42 PM

Click on the image to download a copy.

I have seen and experienced the benefits of being a connected educator: the sharing, inspiration, a push or challenge when needed and support group at just the right time. It doesn’t matter what platform I’m on or even if it is face to face, the benefits are the same.

As I read Donna’s post this morning though I was challenged to think of how I am bringing others in. My mind flashbacked to an MEd course and Wegner’s ideas of levels of participation in communities of practice. How could I help bring in the outsiders? How could I pull in the peripheral and occasional users towards the core? Or am I getting in the way at times?

IMG_1164-1

How do you pull colleagues into your community of practice? I’d love to know! Leave a comment.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

