CONFESSION: I Am Not Wonder Woman

This is not the typical after conference blog post. Usually after two wonderful days of inspiration, ideas and connections people blog about what they are going to do or try. They all are very positive and encouraging.  Although I could write about all the wonderful inspiration and connections, the lesson I took away has been one I have been avoiding since my last blog post and can’t avoid any longer. So I’m putting it out there before I chicken out. Here it goes.

It feels a little vaine to compare myself to Wonder Woman. Goodness gracious I know I don’t look like her and definitely have a few lessons to learn from her about magnetic attraction but when it comes to my job I think I have often striven to be Wonder Woman. I LOVE my job. I truly do. People say it often but I really really love my job. Being able to connect, play, envision and plan with a variety of passionate educators around technology and learning in the 21st century is amazing. Whenever doubt creeps in that it is the right job choice, those who have known me for awhile remind me how perfect of a fit this job is for me. Having the perfect job makes me want to do everything. Everything seems interesting and important. I want to be  wonder woman that swoops in and provides the connection, the resources, the link, the right question. Missing that email, meeting or resource makes me feel too human.

This year has felt busy which is weird for me. I have always had a busy life. Balancing a full time job, part time job, masters, volunteer work, family and friends has always been a challenge but last year was different. The busy last year was tiring and I couldn’t figure it out. In the spring I stumbled upon George Couros’s post I’m Tired. It was one of those moments where the words on the page (or screen) seem to be directly speaking to you. It felt a little like someone had discovered my kryptonite. I actually replied to the tweet and then deleted it. It seemed wrong to complain about anything when you have the perfect job. And as he mentions in the post, often when I voice my struggles I receive many solutions. As nice and well intentioned as they are, I knew this was something I had to do. But instead of dealing with it I got busier.

So in the busyness of the conference and setting up I was in and out of George’s keynote and a slide caught my attention. “To innovate, disrupt routine”. It was like a light bulb. I’ve let busyness become my routine. In my pursuit of ‘doing’ I was missing the deeper more personal connections, missing the time to go deeper and try new things, I was missing creating. Ambivert or introvert, I know I need to take that time to recharge.

So the lesson I’m taking away isn’t a new tool or strategy but rather a need to refocus. It is ok to sleep, take time to eat, go for a walk and turn off my phone. I will not let busyness become routine.

I just have to admit I am not Wonder Woman first.

Stay tuned, new school year’s resolutions to come!

6 thoughts on “CONFESSION: I Am Not Wonder Woman

  1. Pingback: Teaching and Learning in a Digital World Conference: #TLDWpeel | PeelMzYou

  2. I just returned from a week in Algonquin park, totally disconnected. I’ve been slow to notice a mention or two, but your mention brought me to this post today. I like it.
    Pulling the plug and connecting with some old friends was transformational. They say that being disconnected from wifi in the wilds provides deeper connections. We need that more often than we know. I enjoyed your east coast posts, but I wonder if you might have gained more sharing it only with the people with you. Just a thought. We can become more “wonderful” when we focus on the most important things. Remember to build better relationships rather than better lesson plans when school starts this September.
    And yeah, keep blogging!

    • Thanks Rod. East coast was definitely interesting since I didn’t have access to wifi most of the time. I think next time I go I won’t do an online M.Ed. course and leave the nephews with their parents (they wanted proof of life every now and then). Shutting off at some point is in my to do list for this school year. I’ll post it by the end of the week.
      Thanks for keeping me accountable!

  3. Pingback: Gentle Daily Reminders | Miss Kit Kat

  4. Pingback: Confession: I am not Wonder Woman Pt. 2 | Miss Kit Kat

Leave a Reply

