Ooooooo

Yesterday we had two learning opportunities for staff to share strategies and ideas for gaming, gamification and coding in the classroom. Now I have to confess, I’m not a gamer. It may be hard to believe but I have never played Angry Birds or Candy Crush. My nephew will always know more about Minecraft then me. I know there are many benefits but not being immersed in the world myself, I think sometimes I miss some of the potential.

“Ooooo” he said.

I was rushing out of our network meeting as I bumped in to two friendly high schoolers. You could tell they knew something was just not right but curiosity kept them from leaving. I politely said the library was closed and they politely responded with ok.

On their way out, one gentlemen turned around and said “Miss, would you mind telling us what is going on?”

“It is a group of teachers looking at how they can use games, gamification and coding in school.” I responded.

You should have seen his eyes light up! “Ooooo”, he said tapping his chin. “I better leave them to it so they can use it with us.” 

Part of me wanted to invite them to stay, to hear from teachers and kids, to share their own expertise but left with a perfectly timed reminder of why our conversations yesterday were so important.

As I left I wondered when the last time was that I went ‘Ooooo’ about a learning prospect.

2 thoughts on “Ooooooo

  1. Pingback: This Week in Ontario Edublogs | doug --- off the record

Leave a Reply

